The Delhi Police on Tuesday detained 217 Congress staff and leaders, together with 15 MPs, from the New Delhi district for protesting the questioning of Rahul Gandhi by the ED, in violation of prohibitory orders and regardless of being denied permission.

They had been later launched, a police official mentioned.

A whole lot of Congress supporters and leaders, together with Okay C Venugopal and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, had been detained outdoors the occasion headquarters at 24, Akbar Street, and round central Delhi as they tried to carry a protest towards the ED’s questioning of Rahul Gandhi for the second consecutive day within the Nationwide Herald money-laundering probe.

The previous Congress chief was questioned for over 10 hours on Monday.

”We detained 217 individuals together with, some senior functionaries of Congress from the New Delhi district and despatched them to varied police stations. They’ve been launched now.

”At present additionally police denied them permission to prepare gathering as a result of CrPC part 144 has been invoked,” mentioned Sagar Preet Hooda, the Particular Commissioner of Police (Legislation and Order Division).

Of the 217 detained, 15 had been Congress MPs, he mentioned.

Earlier within the day, Rahul Gandhi joined senior occasion leaders at a ”dharna” on the Congress headquarters, the place the chief ministers of Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, Ashok Gehlot and Bhupesh Baghel, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and occasion MPs had been additionally current.

Congress common secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra additionally attended the protest on the Congress headquarters.

Some Congress leaders and MPs weren’t allowed to enter the occasion headquarters and had been taken to completely different police stations.

Lok Sabha MP Manickam Tagore claimed that he and another leaders, together with P L Punia, weren’t allowed to enter the occasion workplace and had been detained on the Mandir Marg police station.

Among the many different leaders detained had been Randeep Surjewala, Jairam Ramesh, Gaurav Gogoi, Deepender Singh Hooda, Ranjeet Ranjan, Jeby Mather, Imran Pratapgarhi, Youth Congress chief B V Srinivas and NSUI chief Neeraj Kundan.

In a press release, Particular Commissioner of Police Sagar Preet Hooda mentioned, ”Delhi Police personnel facilitated Rahul Gandhi to proceed to the workplace of Enforcement Directorate and requested others to cease on the barricades.” ”They (Congress supporters and leaders) had been detained for violation of prohibitory orders beneath CrPC part 144. A complete of 217 functionaries and staff of the Congress occasion had been detained within the New Delhi district.

”They embody eight Lok Sabha members and 7 Rajya Sabha MPs and all of them have been launched. Some detention have additionally been made in different elements of Delhi and appropriate authorized motion is being taken,” the police officer mentioned.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse workers and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Supply hyperlink