Mizoram’s lone BJP MLA Buddha Dhan Chakma together with 12 different leaders was sentenced to 1 yr in jail in a corruption case by a particular courtroom on Monday. Particular decide Vanlalenmawia sentenced 13 folks, together with the Tuichawng legislator, to imprisonment for one yr for embezzling Rs 1.37 crore of Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) between 2013 and 2018.

The courtroom convicted them on July 22 beneath part 13(1)(d) learn with 13(2) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 for abusing their official powers and withdrawing the cash from the particular help fund meant for improvement works.

The opposite convicts are incumbent Chief Government Member (CEM) of CADC Buddha Lila Chakma, two govt members, two sitting members (MDC) and three former CEMs. The opposite 4 are former govt members of the CADC, which governs elements of Lawngtlai district in southern Mizoram.

All of them had been members of the CADC when the corruption occurred.

A wonderful of Rs 10,000 every was additionally imposed on them by the courtroom, which stated they’d endure easy imprisonment for an additional 30 days in the event that they fail to pay.

Quickly after the listening to, the courtroom launched the convicts on bail following a plea by their counsel that they’d problem the decision at a better courtroom.

In 2017, state BJP president Vanlalhmuaka urged the governor to dissolve the Chakma council, alleging irregularities.

Following this, the governor requested the then deputy commissioner (DC) of Lawngtlai A Muthamma to probe the matter. After the DC submitted his report back to the governor, an FIR was filed with the state Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB) in 2018.

Congress was in energy in CADC in 2013, and Budhha Dhan Chakma headed it because the CEM.

Chakma was later elected an MLA on a Congress ticket, and have become a minister within the state’s then Lal Thanhawla authorities. He resigned in 2017 in protest in opposition to the denial of medical seats to 4 Chakma college students by the state authorities.

Quickly after his resignation, he joined the BJP and was elected as an MLA within the 2018 meeting elections. He’s the primary BJP MLA of the state.

Supply hyperlink


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *