AIZAWL: Mizoram’s lone BJP MLA Buddha Dhan Chakma together with 12 different leaders was sentenced to at least one yr in jail in a corruption case by a particular courtroom on Monday. Particular choose Vanlalenmawia sentenced 13 individuals, together with the Tuichawng legislator, to imprisonment for one yr for embezzling Rs 1.37 crore of Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) between 2013 and 2018.
The courtroom convicted them on July 22 below part 13(1)(d) learn with 13(2) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 for abusing their official powers and withdrawing the cash from the particular help fund meant for improvement works.
The opposite convicts are incumbent Chief Government Member (CEM) of CADC Buddha Lila Chakma, two govt members, two sitting members (MDC) and three former CEMs. The opposite 4 are former govt members of the CADC, which governs elements of Lawngtlai district in southern Mizoram.
All of them have been members of the CADC when the corruption occurred.
A tremendous of Rs 10,000 every was additionally imposed on them by the courtroom, which mentioned they’d endure easy imprisonment for an additional 30 days in the event that they fail to pay.
Quickly after the listening to, the courtroom launched the convicts on bail following a plea by their counsel that they’d problem the decision at the next courtroom.
In 2017, state BJP president Vanlalhmuaka urged the governor to dissolve the Chakma council, alleging irregularities.
Following this, the governor requested the then deputy commissioner (DC) of Lawngtlai A Muthamma to probe the matter. After the DC submitted his report back to the governor, an FIR was filed with the state Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB) in 2018.
Congress was in energy in CADC in 2013, and Budhha Dhan Chakma headed it because the CEM.
Chakma was later elected an MLA on a Congress ticket, and have become a minister within the state’s then Lal Thanhawla authorities. He resigned in 2017 in protest towards the denial of medical seats to 4 Chakma college students by the state authorities.
Quickly after his resignation, he joined the BJP and was elected as an MLA within the 2018 meeting elections. He’s the primary BJP MLA of the state.

Supply hyperlink


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *