Gangtok: On the third and ultimate day of the Fifth Session of the tenth Meeting, the Sikkim Legislative Meeting voted for the creation of two new districts of Pakyong and Soreng, carved out of the prevailing East and West Sikkim districts, respectively.

With this Sikkim now has six districts with the 4 earlier districts additionally getting acnew nomenclature. The brand new names are Mangan (North Sikkim), Geyzing (West Sikkim), Gangtok (East Sikkim), and Namchi (South Sikkim).

Supply hyperlink