CHENNAI: Tamil Nadu’s Praveen Chitravel certified for subsequent month’s World championships in Oregon, USA with a distance of 17.18m within the males’s triple soar occasion of the 61st inter-state Nationwide athletics championships on the JN Stadium on Tuesday night.
The qualification mark set for the Worlds was 17.14m. The 21-year-old’s effort noticed him rewrite the meet document of 17.17m set by Punjab’s Arpinder Singh at Lucknow in 2014. Praveen’s effort was the third on the all-time India checklist.
Praveen’s first soar measured 16.70m, and he adopted it up with a 17.18m leap that sealed the highest spot in his favour. Whereas Praveen received the gold, the Kerala duo of Abdulla Aboobacker (17.14m) and Eldhose Paul (16.81) bagged silver and bronze respectively.
Praveen, who hails from Thanjavur, first caught the eye of everybody when he received bronze within the 2018 Youth Olympics at Buenos Aires. He adopted that up by making the finals of the World College Video games in 2019.
Dhana Lakshmi pips Hima Das for 200m gold: Tamil Nadu’s S Dhana Lakshmi as soon as once more underlined her credentials within the girls’s 200m occasion as she pipped Hima Das in a detailed end. Dhana Lakshmi received the race in 23.27 seconds whereas Hima crossed the end line in 23.29 seconds. The third place went to Maharashtra’s Aishwarya Mishra (23.72). Regardless of her win, Dhana Lakshmi rued the truth that she couldn’t seal a spot for the Commonwealth Video games. “It was a tricky race and successful it makes me pleased. Nevertheless, my timing may have been higher as that may have helped me ebook a berth within the CWG,” Dhana Lakshmi informed TOI.
Amlan wins second gold: Assam’s Amlan Borgohain, who had received the lads’s 100m title, bagged the lads’s 200m occasion as nicely with a timing of 21.00 seconds. Karnataka’s Abhin Devadiga (21.42) and Maharashtra’s Rahul Kadam (21.68) took the second and third spots respectively. Jabir Palliyalil, from Kerala, received the lads’s 400m hurdles in 49.76 seconds whereas Tamil Nadu’s Vithya Ramraj took 57.08 seconds to prime the ladies’s 400m hurdles.
Outcomes (all finals): 200m: Males: Amlan Borgohain (Assam): 21.00 seconds, Abhin Devadiga (Karnataka) 21.42, Rahul Ramesh Kadam (Maharashtra) 21.68; Ladies: Dhana Lakshmi (TN) 23.27, Hima Das (Assam) 23.29, Aishwarya Mishra (Maharashtra) 23.72; Hammer Throw: Males: Niraj Kumar (Rajasthan) 65.52m, Harvendra Singh (UP) 64.97m, Damneet Singh (Punjab) 63.15m; 5000m: Males: Harendra Kumar (Delhi) 14:01.5, Amit Jangir (Rajasthan) 14:02.01, Dharmender (Rajasthan) 14:02.13; Ladies: Sanjivani Jadhav (Maharashtra) 16:11.46, Shraddha Kathiriya (Gujarat) 16:14.04, Seema (Himachal Pradesh) 16:25.47; Triple soar: Males: Praveen Chitravel (TN) 17.18m, Abdulla Aboobacker (Kerala) 17.14m, Eldhose Paul (Kerala) 16.81; 400m hurdles: Males: Jabir Palliyalil (Kerala) 49.76, Santhosh Kumar (TN) 50.16, Dhaval Mahesh Utekar (Gujarat) 50.55; Ladies: R Vithya Ramraj (TN) 57.08, R Anu (Kerala) 58.99, R Arathi (Kerala) 59.26

Supply hyperlink