Indian Police Providers (IPS) officer Violet Baruah on Monday grew to become the first-ever girl to get promoted to the rank of Inspector Common in Assam Police.

In an official notification, the House Division of Assam authorities promoted Baruah, who obtained the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service this 12 months, to the rank of Inspector Common of Police with impact from January 1, 2022.

The Assam Police’s senior most girl IPS officer, who’s at the moment posted because the Deputy Inspector Common of Police (BTAD) in Kokrajhar district, will likely be within the ‘Tremendous Time Scale-II of IPS’ of pay matrix, it added.

Expressing happiness over the event, Baruah mentioned she has at all times taken up any problem that got here alongside within the job.

“I’ve by no means mentioned no to any posting or activity in my profession. Rejecting a job has by no means been my model of functioning. That’s the reason I used to be out of Guwahati (the place state police headquarters is located) for many of the interval of my service,” she informed PTI over the telephone.

The senior police officer had additionally obtained the President’s Medal for Meritorious Service in 2012.

Baruah, who had joined the police drive in 1992 as an Assam Police Providers officer and acquired nominated to IPS in 2004, opined that gender empowerment has been happening in every single place, however the want of the hour is “gender mainstreaming”.

“It requires private initiative additionally. I personally opted for a discipline job and I didn’t face any barrier in that. These days many ladies have come ahead to hitch the police, however I really feel extra ought to come,” she added.

The 59-year-old officer had served because the superintendent of police in 4 districts — Morigaon, Goalpara, Cachar and Barpeta, moreover working within the CID wing of the Assam Police.

Together with Baruah, eight different DIGs of the state police have been promoted to the rank of IG, the federal government notification mentioned.

They’re Anand Prakash Tiwari, Diganta Barah, Lachit Barua, Deboraj Upadhaya, Mridulananda Sarma, Dilip Kumar Dey, Prasanta Kumar Bhuyan and Nitul Gogoi, it added.

Learn | What’s holding up the appointment of India’s second CDS?

Learn | Indian-origin choose appointed to South Africa’s highest judicial bench

Supply hyperlink